Friday, March 14, 2008

Isakson Votes for One-Year Moratorium on Earmarks

U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., voted last night for an amendment to the Fiscal Year 2009 Budget Resolution that would have imposed a year-long moratorium on congressional earmarks.

“One of the problems we have in Congress with spending is spending money on projects that shouldn’t be funded with tax dollars. We must take the time to establish transparency and disclosure in the appropriations process,” Isakson said.

The amendment failed by a 29 to 71 vote.

In January, U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., appointed Isakson to a Fiscal Reform Working Group. The group is chaired by Senator Dick Lugar, R-Ind., and also includes Senators Thad Cochran, R-Miss., Mike Crapo, R-Idaho, and Tom Coburn, R-Okla.

The working group has had several in-depth discussions on how to reform the earmark process for appropriations bills and may recommend additional means for the Senate to bring greater transparency and fiscal responsibility to government spending.

No comments: